Parks, Hiking Trails & Tours

Bucke Park
1 Concession, Bucke, Haileybury
(705) 672 2611

Located on Lake Temiskaming, south of Haileybury, Bucke Park is a municipal tent and trailer park open from May to October. It has 34 sites with electrical hook-ups, a concession booth, showers and a large waterfront area providing fishing, swimming, boat launching and access to walking trails including the scenic Devil’s Rock.

www.temiskamingshores.ca

Devil’s Rock Hiking Trail
Silver Centre Road, Hwy 567
Haileybury, ON

Devil’s Rock is a three-hundred foot cliff that allows outdoor enthusiasts a spectacular bird’s-eye view of beautiful Lake Temiskaming as well as the province of Quebec. The face of the devil may be seen in the shape of the rock formations. There are five tunnels in the cliff from rock blasting that took place between 1907- 1912. To reach the summit of this 2,200 million year old precipice, you begin to hike the 3-4 kilometre trail, starting at the municipal Bucke Park in Temiskaming Shores.

www.temiskamingshores.ca

Dr. Pollard Poetry Park
Cobalt
(705) 679 8930

The Dr. Pollard Poetry Park is Northern Ontario’s only park dedicated to preserving the memory and legacy of poetry hall of fame inductees Dave MacLaren, John Gore, Muriel E. Newton-White. Dedication plaques have been placed for all the poets including two honorary 19th century poets who ventured north, Dr. William Henry Drummond and Archibald Lampman.

cobalt.ca/visitors/parks/

Heritage Silver Trail
24 Silver Street, Cobalt
(705) 679 830

The Heritage Silver Trails is a self-guided drive along the back roads of Cobalt and through some of the more historical mining sites in the camp. A six kilometre loop within the existing road system east of Cobalt Lake provides typical examples of mining at the turn of the century. Five principal sites were chosen to illustrate the many features associated with mining in the early 1900’s. Through a system of
billboards, route markers, site signs and information points, the visitor is able to travel through the past and experience the history of the Cobalt mining camp

www.cobalt.ca/visitors

Kap-Kig-Iwan Provincial Park
Kap-Kig-Iwan Road, Hwy 11, Englehart
(705) 544 1968

The Englehart River plunges down whitewater rapids, over a waterfall (Kap-Kig-Iwan in Ojibway), past rugged rock outcrops, through deep ravines and by flats of colourful wildflowers in this picturesque park near Englehart. Hiking, bird watching and spring fishing are excellent. Bonus: no blackflies.

www.ontarioparks.com/park/kapkigiwan

Neighbourwoods Trails
Off Murphy Mill Road, Latchford
(705) 676 2416

Neighbourwoods Trails comprise 6.5 km of all-season, all-purpose trails. Enjoy trekking through immature boreal forest, over hill, dale and wetland, along the Tower trail to the highest point in Latchford. These trails are on Crown Land within the Municipality of Latchford.

www.latchford.ca

Nastawagan Trails

The Nastawagan Trail System is 2400km of interconnected canoe routes. Nastawagan is the Ojibwa word for traditional travel routes and was developed by the Anishinawbeg / First Nation people thousands of years ago. For the most part these trails still exist today for all outdoor enthusiasts and adventurers.

www.nastawgantrails.org

Old Mission Historic Plaque
Silver Centre Road, Hwy 567

In 1836 a Catholic mission was established directly across the lake at Fort Timiskaming, a Hudson’s Bay Company post, where by 1842 a chapel had been completed. The mission was moved to this site in 1863 and a presbytery was constructed by the Oblates who had commenced missionary work in the region in 1844. A second presbytery was built here in 1867. The Grey Sisters of Ottawa, who had arrived the previous year, then established the first hospital of the Timiskaming District in the old presbytery. In 1878 a frame church, known as St. Claude’s, was completed. However, in 1887 the mission was moved to the growing agricultural settlement of Ville Marie in Quebec.

ontarioplaques.com/Plaques/Plaque_Timiskaming01.html